Micronesia Sustainability Issues

Micronesia is a subregion of Oceania, composed of thousands of small islands in the western Pacific Ocean. It has a close shared cultural history with two other island regions: Polynesia to the east and Island Melanesia to the south; as well as with the wider Austronesian people.

The region has a tropical marine climate and is part of the Oceania ecozone. There are five main archipelagos—the Caroline Islands, the Gilbert Islands, the Line Islands, the Mariana Islands, and the Marshall Islands—along with numerous outlying islands. 

Micronesia is a region that includes approximately 2100 islands, with a total land area of 2,700 sq. km (1,000 sq. mi), the largest of which is Guam, which covers 582 sq. km (225 sq. mi). The total ocean area within the perimeter of the islands is 7,400,000 sq. km (2,900,000 sq. mi).

The region has a tropical marine climate moderated by seasonal northeast trade winds. There is little seasonal temperature variation. The dry season runs from December or January to June and the rainy season from July to November or December. Because of the location of some islands, the rainy season can sometimes include typhoons.